Choosing to Own Our Stories

I recognize that “stories” is a topic I write about often. Sharing them is certainly something I believe in wholeheartedly. We can deepen relationships, create positive change, and make our schools and communities better. The longest story I have shared is one that begins with elementary students who will soon graduate from high school, who taught me through the risks they took that mine were worth taking.

Four years ago last month, Lead beyond Your Title was ready to be in hands other than my own. An opportunity a year and a half earlier had opened its arms and I jumped at it after giving permission to a wave of nausea. Based on posts I had written, about the potential in leading from every role and the power in leading with our students, I set out on a mission I never imagined.

Recently I had the honor of joining Steve Barkley on a podcast episode called Students Leading Professional Development and I was lucky enough in that he wanted to follow up with an episode on the book. In preparing for it, I decided to relive each chapter as I have done before and emotion joined me as it always does. When we write our stories, we capture moments that were once alive, that carry life still, and that are forever a part of us.

Challenging traditional definitions that come with our titles, I do my best to offer encouragement to lead beyond them, to show up as who we are because the world deserves nothing less. Each section includes ideas inspired by students and colleagues, moments of celebration, and certainly imperfection. In fact on more than one occasion, what I chose to share has been judged which is never easy to swallow.

I have made the choice to own it, the messy experiences mixed with those times in my career that stopped me in my tracks, because they were just that good. I am fortunate in that I’ve had the chance to continue living my message through the chapters of my book, those I have written since, and those I have not yet discovered. I’ve learned over the past few years that the stories we give to the world are not supposed to be perfect. They are supposed to be ours.

My brave students who I had the honor to teach eight years ago and those I get to share space with now are and will always be the heart of my journey. If we work with kids in any capacity, we have a chance to model owning and sharing our stories. Our courage alone might just be enough to inspire our students who are living in a world that needs their courage.

Here are three quotes from Lead beyond Your Title that will always serve as motivation to show up as me and to keep sharing. I hope you can grab whatever fuel works for you. It matters.

“So please, regardless of your role, keep doing what you are doing and remember to always and relentlessly passion up.”

“Know whom you can reach out to for support-the people in your life who know you, love you, and believe in you. Having a bandage plan ready and waiting might just give you more courage to share.”

“Those who are willing to dance with you or who inspire you to dance will embrace your unique rhythm as well as your crazy moves. Surround yourself with these people every day, near and far, and never ever forget to believe in who you are.”

In honor of my SuperPIRATE seniors who will graduate in just a few months, I have provided a few of their quotes from the book as well and a one minute video of this one of a kind crew receiving a copy of Lead beyond Your Title (delivered to them by my own children) when they were in middle school. I am also dedicating the next few posts to the adventures they inspired me to take with them as their wisdom will always remain the heart of every page.

“As the days went on, it didn’t seem like school anymore. It seemed like hanging out with our new family. It’s crazy how in the beginning of fourth grade, we made this simple goal of having the ‘Best Year Ever’ and literally, we had the best year ever! It became something bigger than us.” -Casey

“I am making sure that I matter in 2016 by not forgetting my superpower-being bold. I’ve been taking a lot of risks and am not afraid to stand up for myself anymore!” -Angie

“I smile to everyone to make sure everyone is motivated.” -Kyle

“I noticed that since I identified my superpower, I felt a change in everything! I have been more positive and a lot more happy with who I am.” -Libby


It took one person to encourage me to write my first blog post and since then, I have decided to keep writing about anything I’m truly inspired by.  This led to writing a Lead Like a PIRATE series guidebook, Lead beyond Your Title: Creating Change in School From Any Role.

Leave a comment