Lessons I Learned in Yoga Class

For eight years I have been immersing myself in the hot room once a week for a yoga class I never thought I could endure. It can be incredibly challenging. Sweat pouring, intense discomfort, and there is always a chance I will fall. Yet it is worth every minute, every time I step onto my mat. What I have learned from continuing to show up as well as listening to a brilliant teacher has inspired lessons I will take with me to school and certainly life.


When You’ve Reached Your Limit, Embrace It

The fullest expression of my pose may look different from someone else’s and often does. Our teacher, Lysa, has advised us, however, that every day is different, that the body we come in with is also different, that if we push ourselves too far we could risk injury. I am learning that when we extend as much as we can in that moment, it’s enough.

I believe we each go through life carrying incredible potential, but we also carry our limits. I am learning to embrace my own. Not only does it free me from comparing who I am to other people, but I am far more open to empathize with my students, colleagues, friends, and family, doing my best to honor where they are.

Rock What You Have

Although it’s still quite hard and my deepest point varies every time, dancer’s pose is my favorite. I am unafraid to charge forward, I know how to use my core to remain standing on one leg, knee locked, while the other half of my body bends forward. I enjoy that sense of pride even with the shakiness that often accompanies it.

I was lucky enough to spend time with my one of a kind friend, Beth Houf, during the holidays. She captured in words what I had been contemplating heading into the new year. I love the concept of choosing a “one word” but I listened as Beth spoke about the potential in focusing on one thing we’re already doing well. I immediately thought of dancer’s pose. It’s been a tough few years. What if we continued to rock what we already have, even when it’s shaky.

Be Open to a Beginner’s Mindset

We do the same postures. Every time. Yet we can take each to the next level as we continue to improve our practice. In fact Lysa recently challenged us to approach our ninety minutes together with a beginner’s mindset. When we walk into our schools and classrooms, as familiar as they may seem, starting the day open to learning might just help us grow more than we imagined.

The other day, a brave student began to explain what respect looks like online. She slowly got out of her seat to approach the front of the classroom. I stepped back as she stepped up and the physical fluidity of student transforming into teacher was beautifully uninterrupted. We all gained a valuable perspective because of it. I decided to start keeping a journal to jot down and share all that I learn from my middle schoolers. I am hoping it will keep me in tune with an openness to learning every day as well as encourage more opportunities to be the student.

Take up Space 

The mat we bring as well as the immediate area around it is ours. When the studio is packed and we’re about to enter “airplane,” I often worry I might invade someone else’s territory. As if she knows what I’m thinking, Lysa announces just in time to go ahead and take up space.  She reminds us that we all showed up, have the right to full extension of our arms, and that it’s the perfect time to say “hi” to our neighbors.  Her words have stayed with me as well as my interpretation.  We all belong and should take every opportunity we can to get to know the people around us as uncomfortable and sweaty as it might be. 

When Lourds Lane entered our world with her rock music and superhero curriculum (coincidentally when I started yoga), we unleashed our stories, the superpowers we had, and those we wished for. There was no need to compare as every student and teacher in the room felt valued for who they were.  This fall, our social emotional and equity director stressed the importance of belonging as foundational in order to create positive change in our society. We can never underestimate our ability as changemakers regardless of our roles. I am hopeful that encouraging ourselves and those around us to take up space in this world and connect with each other will help us get there.

Add Life to Your Years, Not Just Years to Your Life

I love that yoga helps my knees and back after years of throwing my body around as an outfielder. It’s also supposed to slow down the aging process. I love this too. I listened to Lysa share a powerful piece of wisdom at the end of my last class. She encouraged us not to just go after what may give us extra years, but also those experiences that enrich them.

Every year I was in the classroom, we did a service learning project. Nine years ago, we raised money for several organizations through a Zumba event I will never forget. When I recently mailed my then 4th graders’ letters to themselves as high school graduates (I was very late this year), I realized that every student wrote about MOVE 4 P.E.A.C.E.

We wake up every morning and if we are lucky, we have the opportunity to add life to our years, to make them matter. And amidst the uninvited challenges that have stayed with us since COVID began, we must not forget an opportunity that never left us. Every morning when we walk through the doors, we have a chance to add life to the time we have with our students, to give them something to remember, and to have a blast in the process whenever possible.


As hard as it is, hot yoga has remained a significant part of my life not just because my body feels better, but because of the wisdom I have learned from showing up and listening. When I encounter so much goodness that it sticks, I am inspired to write. I am hopeful 2023 will bring me its own moments of inspiration as well as happiness in writing about them. I wish you a wonderful, healthy, and safe year, one where maybe you’ll find your own special weekly discomfort to dive into. The benefits may just rock your world.

Leave a comment